UNITE! Rethinking the European Educational Area

UNITE! University Network for Innovation, Technology and Engineering officially launched
The first steps towards a trans-European campus have been take: the heads of seven European technical universities, which have joined forces to form the UNITE! alliance and have been awarded the title "European University", have signed a joint charter and commenced their work at TU Darmstadt at a festive opening event. On Thursday 5th, the network partners participated in the opening meeting of the European Commission for all 17 funded "European Universities" in Brussels.
Unite !
Representatives of the 7 partner universities of UNITE!
Crédits : ©TU Darmstadt /Sandra Junker

The president of TU Darmstadt, Professor Dr. Tanja Brühl, was elected UNITE! president until 2022, continued. UNITE! is coordinated by TU Darmstadt and receives five million euros in start-up funding until 2022. The seven partner universities intend to use the alliance to create a trans-European campus for students, scientists and administrative staff. The aim is to ensure that degree programmes involving several universities, academic cooperation in teaching and research and transnational knowledge transfer become commonplace.

By 2025, 50 percent of students are to benefit from the various mobility opportunities between the universities. The partners want to strengthen student mobility and doctoral programmes, create a virtual campus and put new pedagogical concepts to the test. 

As a network of universities of engineering and science, UNITE! places great importance on having an interdisciplinary focus on technological and scientific issues, establishing links with start-up networks and industry in the respective regions, and making essential contributions to current social issues such as the energy revolution, artificial intelligence and industry 4.0.

Source : TU Darmstadt

UNITE! partners

partenaires unite

Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany), Aalto University (Finland), Kunglia Tekniska Hoegskolan (Sweden), Politecnico di Torino (Italy), Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (Spain), Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal) et Grenoble Institute of Engineering.