

Students Affairs Department

Academic year 2023-2024

NON-EU STUDENTS: APPLICATION OF DIFFERENTIATED REGISTRATION FEES

The strategy for the attractiveness of international students, known as "Welcome to France" and launched by the government in November 2018, presents the dual objective of:

- welcome more (500 000 international students in France by 2027)
- welcome better

by making it possible to:

- sustainably fund hospitality improvement measures,
- finance scholarships and exemptions for the best candidates to study in France.

It is within this context that the annual ministerial order on registration fees in a French higher education institution sets up differentiated registration fees for non-EU students.

These students are automatically subjected to this by default.

BUT, the chart below nevertheless identifies different categories of students, depending on whether they are:

- NON-subjected
- → not affected
- subjected
- ⇒ affected
- subjected AND exempted affected BUT eligible students who comply with the conditions listed in the following chart, justifying a situation that enables them to reduce the amount of their registration fees to the same level as the one applicable to EU students.



Who is affected (from a regulatory point of view)?

title is allested (nom a regulatory point of view).		
SITUATION	DETAIL	SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO BE PROVIDED
NON-subjected student	Family member of a citizen of the European Union (EU)1	☑ Residence permit stating "Residence card for family members of EU/EEA/Swiss citizens" or "Residence card - Directive 2004/38/EC"
	 Member of the European Economic Area (EEA)2, of the Principality of Andorra, of the Principality of Monaco, or of Switzerland 	☑ National Identity Card (ID Card) or Passport
	◆ Quebec citizen	☑ Valid Canadian passport + Quebec Health Insurance Card (2 valid models: old and new ones
	◆ Registered in a French higher education institution in 2018/2019	☑ Related student card or Registration Certificate
	◆ Long-term resident	 ☑ - a resident card or - a residence permit stating "long-term resident-EU", or - a similar document issued under an international agreement relevant to the French Republic or - a document proving that you are a minor under the age of eighteen and a direct or dependent descendant of the beneficiary of one of the above cards
	 Resident for fiscal purposes at least 2 years as of January 1st of the registration year or Affiliated to a fiscal household in France for more than 2 years 	 ☑ - 3 Tax Notices or Notice of Tax Status (Avis de Situation Déclarative à l'Impôt-ASDIR) for the years N, N-1 and N-2 as of January 1st immediately before the start of the academic year of registration or - Same as above + Copy of an income tax return on which the student's civil status must be mentioned
	 With refugee or subsidiary or temporary protection status (or whose parent or legal representative has one of these three statuses) 	 ☑ Residence permit with the mention "Refugee" or "Beneficiary of the subsidiary protection" or Beneficiary of the temporary protection" (on the back)



Students Affairs Department Academic year 2023-2024

SITUATION	DETAIL	SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO BE PROVIDED
Subjected student	ALL non-EU students who cannot justify one of the situations listed above	
	EXEMPTION CASES: beneficiaries of	
	 a French Government Scholarship (Bourse du Gouvernement Français - BGF) 	☑ related Certificate
	◆ an embassy scholarship	☑ Certificate "granting of a partial exemption from registration fees in an institution of Higher Education ". or
		Possible verification with the <i>Etudes En France - EEF</i> platform (for countries / institutions having an agreement with EEF)
	 of agreements between institutions 	☑ No supporting document

▶EU¹: 27 member countries

- Germany
- Austria
- BelgiumBulgaria
- Cyprus
- Croatia
- Denmark
- > Spain (including teh Balearic and Canary Islands)
- > Estonia
- > Finland
- > France (Metropolitan France, Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Reunion island)
- > Greece
- Hungary
- Ireland
- ► EEA2: Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway

- Italy
- Latvia
- Lithuania
- Luxemburg
- Malta
- Netherlands
- Poland
- Portugal (including the archipelagos of Madeira and the Azores)
- Czech Republic
- Romania
- Slovakia
- Slovenia
- Sweden

Please note: the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Gibraltar) is no longer part of the EU